h1

Working with Quotations Marks

January 28, 2010

Exercise:2 characters should confront a third about an action they believe he/she has taken that has caused some kind of damage. Write the scene using the 3rd character as the narrator.  Please attempt to use the conventions of dialogue (use quotations, paragraph, etc.)

Eve

“It is not my fault,” I kept saying to myself. The thoughts were rushing through my mind, while my soul experienced a pain I never thought I could bear.

“I cannot be responsible for such a terrible outcome nor can I deal with the consequences of my error.”

The more I retrace the events, the more I’m convinced that there must be something I can do to change everything to how it was before.”

“Give it up!” said the serpent.

“You are responsible; it is the truth.”

“It is written in The Book. You can’t rebuke that!” His tone was full of conceit and sarcasm.

I started shaking vigorously. “But you tricked me!” I muttered. Then, slowly,  the words  spilled out  in an  uncontrollable lament. “The truth, most has been lost in translation some way along the line. The long, line of scribes involved in the recount of my story”.

“I can’t carry this blame, this responsibility on my shoulders forever”. I shouted looking into the infinite. Suddenly, the clouds opened and I heard a voice coming from above:

“Don’t trouble yourself, my child.”

I kept my gaze elevated towards the sky. “Lord?” My voice was weak and frightened. The day was warm and the soft breeze that passed through my hair, started to intensify. The wind filled me with a new sense of peace that calmed me down and make me crave even more, to be back at the garden, with him.

“Eve”. The voice from above penetrated my ears and made all the cells on my body vibrate at a faster rate.

“You have made your choice.”

I didn’t need to speak anymore; he knew what I was thinking. His words although serene and warm, enclosed a final sentence. I felt utterly alone, carrying the consequences of the choice I had made. Before I have listened to the snake, life was simple and peaceful. There was no void inside of me. Tasting the knowledge of good and evil had been a rushed, uninformed decision. As I painfully have found out, an irreversible one.

My soul ached because “I knew”. Now, I knew. The veil had come out of my eyes and I could see all the Evil that surrounded me. I could see myself with all my weaknesses. I also saw the immensity of my ignorance, about the world around me. The world I have been thrown into, all of the sudden. That, sadly, was the only thing I knew for sure. That from now own, life was not going to be sheltered and that I would have to learn how to survive.

“Oh, please!” said the snake.

“Do you want humanity to feel sssssssssssorry for you?” His voice continued to be scornful. He kept talking fast, and his comments were hitting like daggers on my brain.

“Poor Eve; She was tricked” “Why don’t you give up, once and for all?”

“You won’t make it in this world, you know?” His voice had suddenly turned soft and persuasive.

“I can help you end your agony; why do you want to keep suffering?”

“A word of advice” He continued talking and his words pounded into my brain with the same strength as the contractions I was beginning to feel on my lower abdomen.

“Don’t bring more poor souls into this world to suffer your same destiny.” “End it now.”

“You will be making the poor bastards a favor.” “Do you really think they will be able to resist me?”

“They will follow my advice, just as you did”

A sudden blow directed to the snake’s neck severed its head. I lifted my face to see Adam’s deep gaze upon me. He seemed as confused and vulnerable as I felt.

Leave a Reply

